Coming Out Christian

I was really struck by the ‘Who We Are’ statement on the site Coming Out Christian. Hopefully they won’t mind if I reproduce part of it here:

“We are followers of Christ, first and formost. We are gay people who have prayed for healing. The healing came… but not in the way that we expected. We prayed to be straight. Instead, God opened our hearts to the amazing fact that He loves us and accepts us just as we are.”

This is very much my own experience, with a slight difference. I prayed for understanding, in the firm resolve that if God showed me that he wanted me to change my ways, I would do so. Far from condemning me, he has reassured and confirmed me and my relationship in countless ways.

I know that God does not want me to stop being who I am, he wants me to use it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment